home > Partners and Affiliates > ISMS Medical Student Section
MSS Council Representatives
Student members of the ISMS have a unique opportunity to actively participate in the deliberations and activities that influence policy impacting the medical profession.

The Illinois State Medical Society encourages student members to serve on each of its key councils. Students serving on these councils are considered regular members, with considerable input into policy and program deliberations and full voting rights.

These appointments then take effect for a one-year term beginning in June of each year. Applications received now are being considered for appointment beginning June 2018. The deadline for receipt of applications is Thursday, May 31, 2018.

A brief description of each council is provided here. All applicants will be notified of appointment once they are finalized in the beginning of June.

If you have any questions, please contact Lindsey Josephs at lindseyjosephs@isms.org.

MSS Council Application Form

Descriptions of ISMS Councils

2018-19 Representatives to ISMS Councils/Committees

Council on Communications 
Meinkeng Stephanie Acha-Morfaw

Council on Economics
Nicholas Lanzotti

Council on Education and Health Workforce 
Jim Leng

Governmental Affairs Council 
Shruti Patel

Medical Legal Council 
Shahzaib Khan

Council on Medical Service 
Farhad Ghamsari

Council on Membership and Advocacy
Blake Murphy

View Full Site View Mobile Site